Don’t know what to read next?

We are very lucky to have so many avid readers at Jennings School!

When looking for book recommendations, and suggestions for further reading, our students, teachers and parents can find many Reading Lists on our Virtual Library webpage. Click here to access Reading lists, or go to the Virtual Library under Library Resources on the left hand side. You can also find them all listed below.

There are Award Winners, Book lists recommended by the Fairfield Public Library, and other Notable book lists that I’ve come across in my reading and researching.

A big thank you to the Fairfield Public Library staff who’s doing such an amazing job updating and compiling comprehensive reading lists for all of us to use!

Happy Reading!

Mrs. P

 

 

Award-Winning Books

2017 Youth Media Awards Booklist:  The winners announced by the American Library Association for the best in media for Children.

2017 Nutmeg Award Nominees and Past Winners: Connecticut’s State Book Award for children.

Newbery Winners 1922-2017:  Most distinguished Children’s book of the year. Awarded by the Association for Library Services to Children.

Caldecott Winners 1938-2017: Most distinguished picturebook of the year. Awarded by the Association for Library Services to Children.

2016 Youth Media Awards Booklist: (Previously Winner’s Circle) The winners announced by the American Library Association for the best in media for Children.

2015 Winner’s Circle: This list provides the winners and honorees for the 2015 Caldecott, Newbery, Sibert and Geisel as well as the list of the 2016 Nutmeg nominees for intermediate and Elementary levels.

2014 Winner’s Circle: This list provides the winners and honorees for the 2014 Caldecott, Newbery, Sibert and Geisel as well as the list of the 2015 Nutmeg nominees for intermediate and Elementary levels.

 

Book Recommendations prepared by Fairfield Public Librarians

Reading for All Ages

These lists include books that will appeal to all ages–reading fun for the whole family!

Road Trip Reading Family Audio Books: Are you look for some recommendations on some family-friendly audiobooks? Look no further! This list includes books that are around 3 hours long. (2017)

Wordless PicturebooksPicturebooks using no words to advance the story. Excellent for visual literacy for all ages. (2016)

 

Ages 3-5

The perfect age to share stories together, when comprehension and attention span have increased from the toddler years.

Ready for Kindergarten?This subject list of picture books contains titles about starting or attending Kindergarten. (2016)

Books To Share: Check out these books for those learning to read, but still love sharing a book! (2016)

Birthday Picturebooks: Books about birthdays! (2016)

Grades K & 1

These books are aimed at beginning and newly independent readers. Repetition and common story elements are introduced and reinforced to facilitate understanding.

Best of 2016-17 Grades K & 1: Staff favorites of books published during this 2015-2016 school year. Released May 2017.

Books to Start (Easy 1)  (2017)

Build A Better World K -1 (2017)

Favorite Series 1-3 Some librarian favorites, some patron favorites, but all great series. (2017)

Read Alouds K & 1 (2017)

 

Grades 2 & 3

Best of 2016-2017 Grades 2-3: Staff favorites of books published during this 2015-2016 school year. Released May 2017.

Build a Better World Grades 2-5 (2017)

Explore Other Worlds Grades 2-3 Fantasy (2017)

Favorite Series 1-3 Some librarian favorites, some patron favorites, but all great series. (2017)

Follow the Clues Grades 2-3 Mystery (2017)

Gentle Reads: Higher level reading for those in second and third grade.  (2016)

Great Graphics!: Graphic Novels for Grades 2 & 3: Some librarian favorites, some patron favorites, but all great series. (2016)

Need a Laugh Funny Grades 2 and 3 (2017)

Read Alouds for Grades 2 & 3 (2017)

Scary Stories Grades 3-5 (2017)

Totally True Nonfiction for Grades 2 & 3: Books that are great and are also true! (2016)

 

Grades 4 & 5

Best of 2016-17 Grades 4 and 5: Staff favorites of books published during the 2015-2016 school year. Released May 2017.

Build a Better World Grades 2-5 (2017)

Just Like You: Realistic Fiction for Grades 4 & 5: These realistic fiction books offer stories to which we can all relate. (2016).

Travel Back in Time: Historical Fiction for Grades 4 & 5: Spark an interest in the history of the world through these historical fiction books. (2016)

Read Alouds 4-5 (2017)

Scary Stories Grades 3-5 (2017)

Scene of the Crime Mystery 4-5 (2017)

Scifi & Fantasy Grades 4-5 (2017)

Score! Sports Books for Grades 4-5 (2017)

Survival & Adventure grades 4- 5 (2017)

Take Two Funny & Realistic Fiction Grades 4-5 (2017)

Upstairs Downstairs Books for Tweens in Grades 5 & 6: These books are for those readers who are comfortable reading titles from the teen room, but are not quite ready to leave the awesome books the Children’s Room has to offer. (2017)

Go Graphic!: Graphic Novels for Grades 4 & 5: Graphic novels not only develop important visual literacy skills, they are seriously fun! (2016)

Exciting Episodes: Series for Grades 4 & 5: Learn to love a character and stick with him or her throughout these series! (2016)

For Real: Nonfiction for Grades 4 & 5: True books that are good books. (2016)

Every Hero Has a StoryBooks about superheroes! (2015)

 

Read-Alouds

2017 Read Alouds K& 1 

 2017 Read Alouds 2&3 

 2017 Read Alouds 4&5

Recommended Books from the CT State Library

 

 Other Notable Book Lists

 

The Best Children’s Books – sorted by subject area and specific topics

New York Public Library – 100 Great Children’s Books

New York Times Best Sellers – Picture Books – weekly updated list of top 10 best sellers

New York Times Best Sellers – Middle Grades – weekly updated list of top 10 best sellers

100 Magnificent Children’s Books 2016! – by  Elizabeth Bird (School Library Journal)

2017 Notable Children’s Books – identified by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC)

2017 Notable Children’s Recordings  – selected by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC)

2018 Nutmeg Book Award Elementary Nominees

2018 Nutmeg Book Award Intermediate Nominees

School Library Journal – Best Books of 2016

The United States Board on Books for Young People (USBBY) – 2016 Outstanding International Books list